Mooroolbark will join the 1000 EFNL games club this week.  The Barkers joined the EFL in 1966 and spent their first 15 years in (then) Division 3 before a runners-up resulted in a promotion.

A relegation during the re-structure to four Divisions proved the catalyst for the club’s first senior Premiership in 1988.  A further promotion to (then) Division 1 followed a couple of years later.  A creditable four wins in the top echelon was not enough to stay up and then a further relegation resulted in a few lean seasons in Division 3.

In 2009 Mooroolbark dominated Division 3 and rightfully won promotion, and the last decade has seen the Mustangs consolidate in the second tier.

Mooroolbark have played the most games against Montrose and Upper Ferntree Gully, both 51 times.

Their best record is against Kilsyth with a perfect 10 wins from 10 matches against the Cougars.  Mooroolbark have 490 wins and nine draws from 999 matches to date.

Wright Medallists

Cameron Linford 2011

Gavin Smith 1996

Tim Jensen 1992

EFL Division Leading Goalkickers

Aaron Mullett 47 2019

Kire Talevski 79 2012

Kire Talevski 109 2011

Kire Talevski 112 2009

Peter Smith 85 1988

David Noble 92 1986

David Noble 84 1983